CMSS Component Groups, Task Forces & Work Groups

Archivists and Historians: promotes information sharing among medical specialty society “historical” specialists and is particularly helpful for medical specialty societies that want to pursue historical programs.
Chair: Tupper Stevens (AUA)
tstevens@auanet.org

Chief Executive Officers: represents CEOs of members, affiliates and associates.
Chair: David Parke, MD

Chief Operating Officers: COOs and executive directors share best practices.

Clinical Practice Guidelines (CPG) Developers: addresses anticipated challenges from the Institute of Medicine’s Committee on Developing Trustworthy Clinical Practice Guidelines: harmonizing CPGs, and ensuring common standards in the development of CPGs.
Co-Chairs: Tom Getchius (AAN) and Belinda Schoof ( AAP)
TGetchius@aan.com ; Bschoof@aafp.org
Need description of communications component group

Communications Directors:  provides communication, marketing, public relations and social media directors a forum to exchange best practices impacting their member organizations’ communications and marketing efforts.
Chairs: Krista Martin (AMIA) and Brendon Shank (SHM)
Krista@amia.org; bshank@HospitalMedicine.org

Continuing Professional Development (CPD): provides an opportunity to network, exchange ideas and share concerns on CPD issues and serves as a recognized forum for the CME/CE directors to voice their positions and concerns about CME and CE delivery and conduct.
Chair: Steve Folstein, M.Ed. (AAAI)
sfolstein@aaaai.org

General Counsels: consists of members’ internal and external legal counsel who share information and help CMSS with key projects such a Conflict of Interest and Disclosure document updating.
Chair: John C. Hutchins, JD (AAN)
jhutchins@aan.com

Governmental Advocacy: explores how CMSS facilitates discussion among members on issues of critical importance in the health care and health reform arena, and to further explore the potential for CMSS to adopt and communicate policy and positions on these issues.

Human Resources:
provides HR Directors with a forum to share developments and issues.
Chairs: Sarah Curtis (ASA) and Elizabeth Parks (ASTRO)
s.curtis@asahq.org; elizabethp@astro.org

Information Technology and Informatics: fosters the sharing and exchange of experiences, ideas and the expertise of key individuals from the participating societies to advance the missions of the respective societies. The group tackles issues such as association management systems and implementation, website redesign in achieving goals in optimization and user interfaces, and sharing strategies for future projects.
Chairs: Olivier Petinaux, MS (ACS) and Joe Carr (AAO)
opetinaux@facs.org; jcarr@aao.org

Membership Directors: provides an opportunity to network, exchange ideas and share concerns on issues related to membership recruitment, retention, services, qualifications and issues impacting membership to advanc the missions of its members.
Chair: Christi Kokaisel (AAN)
ckokaisel@aan.com

QI PI Directors: networks, exchanges ideas and comments on issues related to quality and performance improvement. QI PI meets during the AMA Physician Consortium for Physician Improvement (PCPI).

QI-PI: networks, exchanges ideas and shares concerns on key issues related to workforce development.
Co-Chairs: Judy Burleson, MHSA (ACR) and Stacie Jones, MPH (ACEP)
JBurleson@acr.org; sjones@acep.org

Registries:
Chair: Paul Pomerantz, MBA, CAE (ASA)
p.pomerantz@asahq.org

Workforce: networks, exchanges ideas and shares concerns on key issues related to workforce. The group will work on position papers and policies regarding issues affecting CMSS constituent workforces.
Co-Chairs: Holly Mulvey, MA (AAP) and Stan Kozakowski, MD, FAAFP (AAFP)
HMulvey@aap.org; skozakowski@aafp.org

Task Forces & Work Groups – Ad hoc task forces and expert work groups are formed to address specific and usually time-limited issues, developing policy and advising the Council.

  • Patient and Family Work Group: explores and recommends the role of specialty societies in facilitating the engagement of patients and families with physicians and other healthcare professionals to improve the health of individuals and communities in a patient-centered health care system.